COVID-19 Update: In-school classes for 2020-21 begin September 8. Read our Return-to-School Plan.


Premier's Award for Innovation and Excellence in Education

Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools and the Kihtōtēminawak parent council at Oskāyak High School received the 2014 Premier's Award for Innovation and Excellence in Education, which is awarded annually by the Saskatchewan School Boards Association. The nomination document outlines how the school, which serves First Nations and Métis youth, dramatically improved its attendance and graduation rate. Read the SSBA news release about the 2014 award.


Cleaning up at environmental competition

Student's from our division's EcoJustice program continued to do well in the annual Caring for Our Watersheds competition, in which students submit proposals to improve their watershed. Madelyn Rawlyk and Amy Lalonde was the winning team in 2015 with their proposal to educate people about the presence of plastic micro-beads found in many personal hygiene products. Five of the top six teams in the competition this year were from EcoJustice. The ninth place winners were from St. Bernard School.


'An exceptional and compassionate leader'

Holy Family Principal Connie Tenaski was nominated for a 2015 Woman of Distinction Award in the Education category. During her tenure at Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools she has also been a learning assistance teacher and vice principal. As principal of St. Michael, she was instrumental in bringing a child care to the school and has helped many families connect with supports at Catholic Family Services, the Food Bank and the Crisis Nursery. Leading with kindness and integrity, she fosters relationships with parents and the wider community and is an exceptional and compassionate leader.


They like to move it

Father Robinson School was one of the top three schools in Saskatchewan in this year's 60 Minutes' Kids Club spring challenge - a competition in which schools challenge their kids to be active each day.



Making it all add up

The Saskatchewan Mathematics Teachers Society presents is annual service award to an individual who has made a meaningful impact on mathematics education in Saskatchewan. Our division's math consultant, Diana Sproat, was chosen as the 2014 winner. She has worked extensively to help GSCS teachers learn the most effective way to teach math.


Woman of Distinction

In May 2014, Jacquie Ackerman, then vice principal of Bishop Murray High School, won the YWCA Woman of Distinction award for education. She has taught for 25 years at Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools. During her career, she has been especially involved in choir and drama at her schools.


Oskāyak High School earns national recognition

Oskāyak, which has become the school of choice for aboriginal youth in Saskatoon, received an Honourable Mention for The Ken Spencer Award for Innovation in Teaching and Learning, which is administered by the Canadian Education Association. Check out the CEA news release.  


Principal's service recognized

Connie Tenaski, former principal of St. Michael Community School, was named Distinguished Administrator of the Year by the Saskatchewan School Based Leaders organization. Testimonials from staff members and parents recognized Tenaski as a caring leader with a close connection to families. Her staff members say Tenaski's efforts to create a positive learning environment have resulted in improved student achievement. Tenaski is now principal of Holy Family School.


Champion of Phys Ed

Patti Perepeluk, a Grade 1 teacher at St. Augustine School in Saskatoon, received a Local Initiative award from the Saskatchewan Physical Education Association. It recognizes her contributions to physical education in the Saskatoon region. Perepeluk has been a long-time supporter of the Jump Rope for Heart program, which encourages kids to get active by skipping rope while collecting pledges for research into heart disease and stroke.


St. Mark principal named one of best in Canada

Owen Fortosky was named one of Canada's 40 Outstanding Principals by a group of education, community and private-sector leaders. "He was recognized for his excellence in leadership, partnerships with parents and community, innovative thinking. . . and support of successful change," said vice principal Laura Cey. Learn more in this news release.


High school wins top prize in Mosaic Extreme School Makeover Challenge

E.D. Feehan Catholic High School was awarded a $7,000 cash prize in September 2013 for its plan to give students a larger role in delivering their school's nutrition programs. Read the school makeover news release.


Classroom goes on an energy diet

Curtis Wagner's Grade 5 class at St. Luke School competed in the Classroom Energy Diet Challenge, a national competition to get students excited about saving energy and encouraging others to do so too. During the challenge, classrooms earned points by completing various activities that helped them learn about a variety of energy issues. When all the points were tallied, Wagner's class finished in a four-way tie for first place, ahead of nearly 1,300  classrooms that competed in the challenge. The class received a $2500 Visa gift card.