• Designs of new schools unveiled

    ​A significant milestone for the six new schools under construction in our division was achieved February 22, when the designs of 18 joint-use elementary schools were unveiled.

    Education Minister Don Morgan joined Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools Board Chair Diane Boyko and representatives from Saskatoon Public Schools, Prairie Spirit School Division, Regina Public Schools and Regina Catholic School Division at Lakeridge School in Saskatoon.

    Students from Lakeridge School and nearby St. Luke School helped reveal drawings depicting plans—both interior and exterior—for the 18 schools on nine joint-use sites (four in Saskatoon, three in Regina, one in Martensville and one in Warman). Each site will have a Catholic school, a public school and community space.

    "It's taken a lot of people a lot of hours of work to get to this point," Boyko said.  "The schools are really starting to take shape, and now that we have official drawings, I think people in those communities are starting to get excited about their new schools."

    Minister Morgan added, "Thank you to all the students, families, municipalities, school divisions, ministry staff, design and construction teams, and many of our other partners and stakeholders who played a significant role in helping finalize the designs of these 18 schools. That hard work and collaboration has ensured that we are building schools that will respect the uniqueness of each community and will serve the needs of the students for years to come."

    Officials indicated that construction of the new schools is on time and on budget. They are scheduled to open in September of 2017.

    See designs and live webcams for each site

View all news...